Wednesday, December 31, 2014

Monthly Reflections (#36) ~ December | Random Reads (January)

Photobucket

Monthly Reflections, where we take the time to reflect on the previous month.

My goal for December was...

To finish at least 10 books.

Books read:
Monday, December 29, 2014

Weekly Giveaway Link-up #49

Welcome to Weekly Giveaway Link-up hosted by Crystal @ Just Another Book Lovin' Girl and me. This is a linky where you can submit your blog's Christian book and book-related giveaways and find other giveaways. A new link-up will be posted every Monday.

Saturday, December 27, 2014

Review: Dark Tide by Susan Sleeman

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0373445881/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0373445881&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=5BJSKKHMEGXCBBU5
About the book:
MISSION: PROTECT BABY

Gina Evans knows her brother was murdered—even if the police won't believe her. After catching a quick glimpse of the evidence her brother had gathered, the same criminals are after her and her baby niece. And Gina's only hope is the man she left behind. Despite the painful memories, private investigator Derrick Justice won't fail Gina and her baby. Yet now, the woman he never stopped loving and the baby he's come to adore are in a killer's crosshairs. But can Derrick trap the cold-blooded murderer before he strikes again?

The Justice Agency: Family and law enforcement go hand in hand
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket 
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Wednesday, December 24, 2014

Review & Giveaway: Hope Rising by Stacie Henrie


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/145559881X/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=145559881X&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=FZ36G4UKQCI33FLZ
About the book:
In France at the height of World War I, American nurse Evelyn Gray is no stranger to suffering. She's helped save the life of many a soldier, but when she learns her betrothed has been killed, her own heart may be broken beyond repair. Summoning all her strength, Evelyn is determined to carry on-not just for herself and her country, but for her unborn child.  
Corporal Joel Campbell dreams of the day the war is over and he can return home and start a family. When a brutal battle injury puts that hope in jeopardy, Joel is lost to despair . . . until he meets Evelyn. Beautiful, compassionate, and in need of help, she makes an unconventional proposal that could save their lives-or ruin them irrevocably. Now, amidst the terror and turmoil of the Western Front, these two lost souls will have to put their faith in love to find the miracle they've been looking for.

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

"Waiting On" Wednesday: An Uncertain Choice by Jody Hedlund


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're
eagerly anticipating.

 This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0310749190/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0310749190&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=HCYWOSMYVUGWVSGK
An Uncertain Choice by Jody Hedlund
Zondervan / ISBN# 978-0310749196
Expected Publication Date: March 3, 2015

Find on: AmazonGoodreads

About the book:

Due to her parents' promise at her birth, Lady Rosemarie has been prepared to become a nun on the day she turns eighteen. Then, a month before her birthday, a friend of her father's enters the kingdom and proclaims her parents' will left a second choice--if Rosemarie can marry before the eve of her eighteenth year, she will be exempt from the ancient vow.

Before long, Rosemarie is presented with the three most handsome and brave knights in the land. But when the competition for her heart seemingly results in a knight playing foul, she begins to wonder if the convent is the best place after all. If only one of the knights--the one who appears the most guilty--had not already captured her heart.
 
Why I want to read this book:

Because it sounds very good! I've loved several of Jody's historical romances and I'm looking forward to reading her first YA book!

What's your "Waiting On" Wednesday selection this week?
Tuesday, December 23, 2014

Top Ten Books I Wouldn't Mind Getting For Christmas


Top Ten Books I Wouldn't Mind Getting For Christmas

Review: A September Bride by Kathryn Springer

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GRYXP9G/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00GRYXP9G&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=5BAF2DRGWN3M3G3W
About the book:
A year’s worth of novellas from twelve inspirational romance authors. Happily ever after guaranteed.

When Annie moves to Red Leaf, she’s ready to call the little town home. But one handsome, suspicious policeman is ready to stand in her way . . . even if it means walking her down the aisle first.

All Annie Price has ever wanted is a place to call home. So when an online friend offers her a fresh start managing a little bookstore in Red Leaf, Wisconsin, Annie packs her bags and waves goodbye to her former lonely life.

Deputy Jesse Kent can’t believe his mother has handed the keys to her bookshop over to a woman she met on the internet. Annie might be vivacious, smart as a whip, and beautiful—ahem—but what do they really know about her? Jesse has seen his mother taken advantage of before, and he decides to keep a close eye on this Annie Price.

But when a close eye turns into a historical wedding reenactment with Jesse and Annie as the couple, make-believe nuptials quickly give way to real-life emotions. As the wedding approaches and Annie and Jesse’s secrets come to light, the deputy has to face the truth: this wedding may have started as a ploy, but he wants to make Annie his September bride . . . for real.

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket 
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Saturday, December 20, 2014

Review: Christmas Cover-Up by Lynette Eason

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DPABDX0/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00DPABDX0&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=B5IMVEJWGAPEMU44
About the book:
HER STOLEN SISTER

Seven-year-old Lucy Randall had been kidnapped in broad daylight fourteen years ago, and now Detective Katie Randall is determined to solve her sister's case. Her only option is to team up with the man whose family hates her. Former FBI agent Jordan Grey knows the beautiful cop isn't to blame for his brother's death, but he can't risk causing his parents more pain by falling for Katie. He'll have to focus on finding Lucy. But when Katie and Jordan uncover the truth, will this kidnapper turn killer?

Family Reunions: Bringing loved ones back together
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Thursday, December 18, 2014

Review: A Christmas Hope by Stacy Henrie

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00M7D0E2M/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00M7D0E2M&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=RLYBUPTJ6RIKSAUY
About the book:
In this special holiday novella, Stacy Henrie returns to the World War I setting of her Of Love and War series for a heartwarming read that's perfect for the Christmas season.

TIS THE SEASON FOR SECOND CHANCES

Having experienced the heartache of unrequited love, Maria Schmitt desperately seeks a new life. Landing a position as a clerk in a Sioux City bank is just what she needs to get started on her journey toward healing. But a dashing stranger soon puts her job-and her heart-in jeopardy.

Saving lives was all Dale Emerson ever wanted to do . . . until a fateful day in France shattered his career as a surgeon. He lost everything that mattered, and the last thing he wants to do is resign himself to a life without medicine working at his uncle's bank. Then he meets Maria, a compassionate woman who can see past his scars to the man he once was-and the man he could be again. With Christmas right around the corner, these two wounded hearts may find that hope and a little holiday cheer are just the ticket to letting go of regrets-and embracing a future full of love and possibility.
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket 
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

"Waiting On" Wednesday: A Love Like Ours by Becky Wade


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're
eagerly anticipating.

 This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0764211099/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0764211099&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=GQWL3TJJGQ2SGHGQ
A Love Like Ours by Becky Wade
Bethany House / ISBN#978-0764211096
Expected Publication Date: May 5, 2015

Find on: AmazonGoodreads

About the book:

Becky Wade Is the New Name to Know in Contemporary Romance

Deeply scarred from a day he wishes he could forget during his military service, Thoroughbred trainer Jake Porter has given up on love. He struggles against symptoms of PTSD, lives a solitary life, and avoids relationships.

When Lyndie James, Jake's childhood best friend, returns to their hometown of Holley, Texas, Jake cautiously hires her to exercise his Thoroughbreds. Lyndie is tender-hearted, fiercely determined, and afraid of nothing, just like she was as a child. Jake trusts her with his prized racehorse, Silver Leaf, then battles his hopes for his horse against his increasing fear for Lyndie's safety.

Though Jake and Lyndie have grown into very different adults, the bond that existed during their childhood still ties them together. Against Jake's will, Lyndie's sparkling, optimistic personality begins to tear down the walls he's built around his heart. A glimmer of the hope he'd thought he'd lost returns. Will Jake ever be able to love Lyndie like she deserves, or is his heart too shattered to mend?

Why I want to read this book:

I've been waiting for Jake's book for a while and I'm so excited about this book!

What's your "Waiting On" Wednesday selection this week?
Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Cover Reveal: Shifter’s Heart by Desiree Williams


Shifter’s Heart – Heart Song Trilogy Book 2 Blurb


As the flames of Varkadon spread, war rips through the Shifter Territory…
With the Aldonnian kingdom celebrating the news of her brother’s soul bonding, Laelynn seizes every opportunity to drive herself to the brink of exhaustion. If her body is worn, then her brain would be too tired to dream. Laelynn knew the men who’d captured her were gone from this world, but that didn’t stop the haunting images from plaguing her mind. Not even the pesky thorn-in-her-side Shifter Prince could keep the dreams at bay. Though Dustan’s commentary through their mental bond had kept a lingering smile on her lips, despite the battles that rage within her.
Yet when Dustan distances himself Laelynn questions the connection between them. Those fears rise when her own talents begin to morph and growth into the unexpected. Torn between love and faith, Laelynn strives to find the purpose behind the evolving gifts. What she discovers is far more than she ever imagined.
As tragedy befalls the Shifter Territory and brother battles against brother, Laelynn knows what must be done. Face her demons and triumph, or she’ll never claim the song of her heart.

Shifter’s Heart – Excerpt


Dustan stretched as he stood, knocking off the dirt and dried foliage that clung to his pants. The wind picked up speed around him and Dustan stiffened as the hairs on his neck rose. His eyes swept the Clan’s burial site, evaluating the shadows of the nearby woods and memorial monuments. Creaks of branches and the rustling of leaves met Dustan’s ears as the wind whistled through the trees. He breathed deeply, sniffing the air to catch any passing scents. Nothing. Balling his fist, Dustan stepped into a battle stance. Preparing.
What he hadn’t expected was a bright, blinding light to burst a few feet in front of him. Shielding his eyes with his forearm, Dustan attempted to see beyond the light for a form or bodily outline. His heart skipped a beat when a voice spoke from within it.
“Dustan, High Prince of the Shifters, mate and heart song to Laelynn, Princess of Aldonnia. The Lord of Heaven has heard your declaration. Do you also vow to love her above all others?”
The voice, powerful and slightly musical, filled Dustan’s ears and mind. He stood gaping at what was before him. He’d heard stories about Messengers from the Lord of Heaven, but he never believed any of them. The stories were always so farfetched. Too fantastical to be true.
“Warrior,” the voice sang again, “the princess of Aldonnia will face many things as darkness tries to overcome her. Do you vow to not only protect her, but to love her above all others? To be her light?” The musical voice boomed, and Dustan shook himself from his state of shock. He was Laelynn’s heart song? How? They hadn’t shared a kiss. That he would’ve remembered. Regardless, soul bonded or not, Dustan’s answer would be the same.
“Yes. I vow myself to Laelynn. I pledge to ensure that she is protected and loved above all others.” As the last words fell from Dustan’s lips the light sped forward, stabbing its way into his chest. Dustan clawed and yelled in vain. Intense pressure built as the Messenger invaded every cell of his being.
Dustan dropped to the ground. A cry tore from his mouth as searing pain radiated from his back; as though duel blades were cutting a jagged pattern down his spine. Light shone from his eyes and limbs, illuminating the burial site. His chest heaved with labored breaths and a mangled cry passed his lips as he watched his hands form into the impossible. Dustan’s feet and legs following behind them, his entire body morphed into a vision that would haunt him.
The Messenger slowly detached itself from Dustan, leaving his body to crumble to the ground. Dustan staggered to his feet, tossing his head to clear his mind. As the fog lifted he was again faced with the horrors of his new body. His mind raced to find the logic behind what his eyes were seeing, screaming that it wasn’t possible. That it wasn’t fair. The dreams of life he held just moments ago, gone in an instant.
A roar of agony ripped through the air. It was no longer a roar of a man, but of a monster.

Book Links

Ebooks Pre-order available at: Amazon

Author Bio:



Desiree Williams is a dreamer by day and chocoholic by night. She lives in the beautiful state of Kentucky with her husband and daughter, where she juggles life as a wannabe supermom. Desiree is a lover of food and avoider of dirty dishes. She delights in making people laugh and strives to bring hope and love with her wherever she goes. 
You can find out more about Desiree and her books at www.desireewilliamsbooks.blogspot.com

Giveaway Details


Items: an Origami Owl “Leap of Faith” necklace; $10 Amazon GC; $15 Starbucks GC



a Rafflecopter giveaway
Monday, December 15, 2014

Weekly Giveaway Link-up #48

Welcome to Weekly Giveaway Link-up hosted by Crystal @ Just Another Book Lovin' Girl and me. This is a linky where you can submit your blog's Christian book and book-related giveaways and find other giveaways. A new link-up will be posted every Monday.

Sunday, December 14, 2014

Review: An Amish Family Christmas by Murray Pura

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00ET7Q4MI/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00ET7Q4MI&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=XCR3IIXGCNCK4PUF
About the book:
After tragedy strikes the family of young Naomi Miller, her friend Rebecca Bachman does all she can to help. But things get complicated when Rebecca's brother, Micah, returns from a combat tour in Afghanistan. For one thing, he chose to serve in the military even though he served as a medic and never picked up a gun. For another, he is under the Meidung--the shunning-- because of that and none of the Amish are permitted to speak to him or eat with him. And finally, he is not only Rebecca's brother, he is Naomi's husband! But how can Naomi pick up where their marriage left off after he turned away from her and his people to enlist in the army? How can Naomi and Micah even begin the process of healing their relationship when he will not repent of what he has done and the Amish will not forgive him for what he has done? Naomi despairs of ever again having a happy married life with her husband.

But God has a way of working on the hearts of His people--especially at Christmas time. When an unexpected turn of events sets things right, miracles happen to the Amish community, to the Miller family, and to Naomi and Micah, miracles that transform everyone.

Here is warm and tender story of faithfulness, love, and reconciliation at the most wonderful time of the year.

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket 
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Saturday, December 13, 2014

Weekend Wrap-up (December 13) & Giveaway Winner!


Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and hope to read this coming week, and (when applicable) the current giveaways/giveaway winners. Occasionally I'll post some other stuff as well. Be sure to follow my Pinterest boards "Free Kindle Books" and "Book Deals" to see the good deals/freebies I share about. :)

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've accomplished (reading-wise) this past week. :)

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Excerpt & Giveaway: Navy SEAL Noel by Liz Johnson

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00L0XDVJ8/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00L0XDVJ8&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=5BTABNOH7Y6KQYMXAbout the book:
A LETHAL REUNION 
Abducted by a drug cartel, scientist Jessalynn McCoy's orders are simple—release a deadly toxin, or be killed. Trapped with no options, she's desperate for help…she just never expected it from Will Gumble. The boy who let her down years ago is now a navy SEAL. She trusts his skills, his experience. Yet trusting him is a struggle. Will's Christmas wish is to heal their damaged relationship and get them to safety. But time is running out and someone is on to their escape plans. Any mistake could mean the difference between facing the holidays together or apart. Forever.

Excerpt:

Wednesday, December 10, 2014

"Waiting On" Wednesday: Always On My Mind by Susan May Warren


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're
eagerly anticipating.

 This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1414378440/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=1414378440&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=CVTSWGUEPNPLIIZX
Always On My Mind by Susan May Warren
Tyndale House / ISBN#978-1414378442
Expected Publication Date: January 1, 2015

Find on: AmazonGoodreads

About the book:

Come home to the Christiansens’, where faith and family meet real life.
After a failed dig in Honduras, aspiring archaeologist Casper Christiansen heads home to Minnesota to face his unresolved feelings for Raina Beaumont, the woman of his dreams. But when he arrives unannounced on her doorstep, he receives the shock of a lifetime: Raina is pregnant with someone else’s baby.

Heartbroken, especially when he discovers the identity of the baby’s father, Casper tables his dreams and determines to be dependable for once, helping his older brother, Darek, prepare the family resort for its grand reopening. Casper longs to be the hero of at least one family story, but a never-ending Deep Haven winter and costly repairs threaten their efforts—and the future of the resort.

Worse, one of Casper’s new jobs constantly brings him into contact with Raina, whom he can’t seem to forget. A tentative friendship begins to heal fresh wounds, but can they possibly overcome past mistakes and current choices to discover a future together?

Why I want to read this book:

There are three main reasons why I REALLY want to read this book: #1 Susan May Warren is one of my favorite authors. I've loved pretty much every book I've read of hers. #2 I have been loving this series SO MUCH. #3 The things that happened in the last book (When I Fall In Love), make me so curious to see what is going to happen between Casper and Raina!

What's your "Waiting On" Wednesday selection this week?
Tuesday, December 9, 2014

Review: An August Bride by Debra Clopton


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GRYXPAA/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00GRYXPAA&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=WVLCMWNWTHPCIE7Q

About the book:
As far as Kelsey Wilcox is concerned, her last cowboy was the last cowboy.

Kelsey Wilcox has had enough of cowboys. After the last one broke her heart, Kelsey traded in her boots for flip-flops, and the open range for a bistro on the beach.  Her life on Corpus Christi’s gorgeous beach might be a little lonely, but at least it’s heartbreak-free. At least until her cousin’s beachside wedding bucks Kelsey right back into the rodeo.

When unlucky-in-love Brent Corbin packed his groomsman’s tux for his friend’s wedding, he brought his boots and belt buckle with him. Brent isn’t exactly looking for love, but when he sees what appears to be a mermaid in distress, he jumps right in to rescue her.

So Kelsey finds herself plucked from the sea—and certain-drowning—by a gorgeous groomsman . . . in soaked cowboy boots. She’s quick to say thanks, but no thanks.

Brent dedicates the weekend to pursuing Kelsey—and Kelsey spends the weekend trying to deny an obvious match. She’s as stubborn as a wild horse, but Brent’s determination may tame her yet.
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts: